Outstanding students, faculty, and staff honored at SCI night

<p>SCI&rsquo;s annual awards ceremony and dinner, SCI Night, was held at the Tempe Mission Palms Hotel on April 11. The event recognized outstanding students, faculty and staff. The evening&rsquo;s keynote speaker, Dr. William Harris, the president and CEO of the Science Foundation of Arizona, was introduced by Ira A. Fulton Dean Deirdre Meldrum.&nbsp;</p><separator></separator><p>The following awards were presented:&nbsp;</p><separator></separator><p>Distinguished Undergraduate Seniors: Kartik Talamadupula and David Weber<br /> Undergraduate Student Leadership: Joyce Tang<br /> Outstanding M.S. Student: Kaichi Zhou<br /> Outstanding Ph.D. Students: Donglin Xia and Zheng Zhao<br /> Graduate Student Leadership: Sudheendra Murthy<br /> Outstanding Teaching Assistant: Michael Verdicchio<br /> Programming Competition Winners:<br /> 1st: Josh Wolfe<br /> 2nd: Randy Compton<br /> Researcher of the Year: Kasim Selcuk Candan<br /> Teacher of the Year: Yinong Chen<br /> Service Faculty of the Year: Vimla Patel<br /> Young Investigator of the Year: Karamvir Singh Chatha<br /> Staff Excellence: Annelise Cole and Deborah Paterick<br /> Retiring Faculty Recognition: William Lewis, Pearse O&rsquo;Grady, Joseph Urban and Susan Urban</p>