Skip to main content

Communication scholar receives distinguished professorship

Hugh Downs School of Human Communication Professor Paul Mongeau

July 01, 2019

Arizona State University's Hugh Downs School of Human Communication has chosen Paul Mongeau to become the next Jeanne Lind Herberger Professor in Communication.

Mongeau, a leading researcher in interpersonal and persuasive communication, has an acclaimed reputation, as is reflected in how frequently his work is cited and used by other scholars in communication and other disciplines.

A professor at the Hugh Downs School since 2002, Mongeau also serves as associate director, a position he has held since 2013. Mongeau is also an ASU alumnus, having received his BS (1981) and his MA (1983) from the then Department of Communication. He received his PhD in communication from Michigan State University.

Jeanne Herberger, an alumnus of the Hugh Downs School PhD program, pledged $500,000 in 1997 to create the professorship, a rotating three-year term meant to give the school flexibility to meet diverse and changing needs.

“I am honored and humbled to be named the next Herberger Professor,” Mongeau said. “It means a lot to me to follow so many of my esteemed colleagues in this position. In particular, I want to thank Dr. Laura Guerrero for nominating me. This was a selfless, generous and much appreciated gesture.”

In her nomination, Guerrero described Mongeau’s program of research as “highly respected and well known by interpersonal communication scholars as well as relationship researchers from other fields such as social psychology and family studies.” 

Mongeau will receive annual funding which could be used for a variety of scholarly pursuits, including travel to conferences, and other requirements of an active scholar and teacher. 

Mongeau served as president of the Western States Communication Association from 2015 to 2016.

“Professor Mongeau exemplifies the scholar-teacher whose research and teaching impact the lives of his students and colleagues,” said Professor Linda C. Lederman, director of the Hugh Downs School.  “He is an important member of our vibrant learning community and a wonderful selection for the Herberger Professorship.”

Previous recipients of the Jeanne Lind Herberger Professor in Communication include:

Robert McPhee, 1998–2001
Judith Martin, 2001–2004
Daniel Canary, 2004–2007
Jess Alberts, 2007–2010
Steven Corman, 2010–2013
Benjamin Broome, 2013–2016
Sarah Tracy, 2016–2019

More University news


An infographic showing headshots of the five recipients of the NCAA Men’s Final Four Phoenix 2024 Legends and Legacy Community award

5 ASU alumni receive NCAA Final Four community award

Five Arizona State University alumni have been named recipients of the NCAA Men’s Final Four Phoenix 2024 Legends and Legacy…

February 21, 2024
The ASU Charter sign in front of a building

Honored faculty chart new territories in inclusion and community

When Arizona State University President Michael M. Crow developed the ASU Charter, his intention was to shape the vision of the…

February 21, 2024
ASU sign lit up at night.

4 exceptional faculty receive Provost Teaching Awards

The excellence of Arizona State University’s academic programs and research is often reflected through rising national rankings…

February 20, 2024