Skip to main content

ASU Pitchfork Awards recognizes students making a difference every day

Pitchfork Pantry, International Night lead the honorees

two women seated in front of shelves of canned food

Student Anti-Hunger Coalition president Stephanie Kaufmann (right) and vice president Rebecca Bender at the Tempe campus Pitchfork Pantry location. Pitchfork Pantry, an organization that provides free food to students in need, won the Changemaker Award for Social Change and the Most Promising New Student Organization award at the Pitchfork Awards on Tuesday. Photo by Anya Magnuson/ASU Now

April 12, 2017

Every day, Arizona State University students, advisers and organizations are committed to making a positive impact through service, leadership and Sun Devil spirit. On April 12, the maroon carpet was rolled out at the sixth annual ASU Pitchfork Awards to celebrate and congratulate distinguished Devils on their efforts and successes.

If you can think of a challenge, ASU students are working to create a solution.

Taking home the Changemaker Award for Social Change was Pitchfork Pantry, an organization that provides free food to students in need and educates the surrounding area about hunger. Pitchfork Pantry also won the Most Promising New Student Organization award.

The 2016 International Night, presented by the Coalition of International Students (CIS), captured the Best Program Celebrating Campus Diversity, Best Entertainment Program (over 500 attendees) and Best Cultural Program awards. ASU’s largest cultural festival, International Night annually brings Sun Devils from around the world together to showcase their culture through music, dance and cuisine while raising awareness and appreciation of the many cultures students bring to the ASU community.

The full list of the 2017 Pitchfork Awards winners:

  • Best Cultural Program: International Night
  • Best Educational Program: Mental Health Awareness Week
  • Best Entertainment Program (over 500 attendees): International Night
  • Best Entertainment Program (under 500 attendees): Boo Bash
  • Best Program Celebrating Campus Diversity: International Night
  • Best Recurring Program: Dance Marathon
  • Changemaker Award for Entrepreneur of the Year: Patrick McFarland
  • Changemaker Award for Group Service: Fraternity & Sorority Life
  • Changemaker Award for Social Change: Pitchfork Pantry
  • Emerging Student Leader: Mackenzie Saunders
  • Intramural Female Athlete of the Year: Yesenia Rodriguez
  • Intramural Male Athlete of the Year: Jon Santos
  • Intramural Team of the Year: Beater Help
  • Most Promising New Student Organization: Pitchfork Pantry
  • Outstanding Adviser: Dr. Ronald Briggs
  • Outstanding Graduate Student Leader: Courtney B. Francis
  • Outstanding Graduate Student Organization: Graduate Nurse Organization
  • Outstanding Sustainable Project or Program: Peace Corps Club
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Student Leader: Emma Hobbs
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Student Organization: Residence Hall Association
  • Outstanding Well Devil Project: Pi Beta Phi
  • Residential College of the Year: College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
  • Sport Club of the Year: Sun Devil Quidditch
  • Sun Devil Spirit Award (group): 942 Crew
  • Sun Devil Spirit Award (individual): Tayler Blackman
  • Greek Man of the Year: David Roberts
  • Greek Woman of the Year: Emma Walls
  • Outstanding Interfaith Program: Annual Interfaith Dinner

For more information about the awards, visit the Pitchfork Awards website at

More Sun Devil community


Portrait of Graham Rossini

Q&A: Rossini on the opportunities, challenges ahead as ASU's new athletic director

Graham Rossini opened a drawer in his office and pulled out a rookie baseball card of Atlanta Braves outfielder Mike Kelly.…

May 23, 2024
The ASU women's volleyball team is seen from behind as they stand on the court for the national anthem

Sun Devil Athletics by the numbers: A look back at the 2023–24 season

With the 2024–25 season — and Arizona State University's entrance to the Big 12 — right around the corner, here's a quick look…

May 22, 2024
Old Main building

9 winners of prestigious Flinn Scholarship choose ASU

Nine Flinn Scholars, winners of the state’s most prestigious scholarship, have chosen to become Arizona State University Sun…

May 21, 2024