Skip to main content

ASU health fellowship program announces new honorary awards, inaugural recipients

Dr. Tim Porter O'Grady and Dr. Kathy Malloch

December 16, 2016

The Executive Fellowship in Innovation Health Leadership, a year-long cohort-based executive program from ASU’s College of Nursing and Health Innovation, in partnership with the American Organization of Nurse Executives and the American Association for Physician Leadership, introduced two new honorary awards that the fellowship will present to industry leaders annually.

In honor of their contributions to the field of innovation, health leaders Kathy Malloch and Tim Porter-O’Grady have been selected as the namesakes for the two new awards: the Kathy Malloch Award for Excellence in Innovation Health Leadership Education, and the Tim Porter-O’Grady Award for Excellence in Innovation Health Leadership Practice.

Kathy Malloch, clinical professor and senior faculty member in the College of Nursing and Health Innovation’s Master of Healthcare Innovation program, is a recognized expert in leadership and development of effective evidence-based processes and systems for patient care. Recipients of this award will demonstrate excellence in mentorship throughout their organization and beyond.

Tim Porter-O’Grady, associate professor at the College of Nursing and Health Innovation, has been involved in complex health service delivery models and the promotion of organizational innovation to policymakers for 45 years. Recipients of this award are health care leaders who are committed to demonstrating the lessons of innovation, and developing cross-boundary solutions in pursuit of improved health care.

"Drs. Kathy Malloch and Tim Porter-O'Grady have led a transformational change in how we think about, lead and innovate care delivery,” said Teri Pipe, ASU’s chief well-being officer and dean of the College of Nursing and Health Innovation. “I cannot think of a better way to honor other great innovators than to bestow upon them these awards named for Kathy and Tim."

The advisory board for the EFIHL program recently selected the first recipients of the new awards based on their exemplary contributions to the field of innovation. Pamela Thompson, from the American Organization of Nurse Executives, was chosen as the inaugural recipient of the Kathy Malloch Award, and Marilyn P. Chow, from Kaiser Permanente, was selected as the inaugural recipient of the Tim Porter-O’Grady Award.

About the honorees:

Pam Thompson
Currently CEO emeritus of the American Organization of Nurse Executives, Thompson served 16 years as AONE’s CEO, and as the American Hospital Association’s senior vice president of nursing/chief nursing officer. She has focused her career on strengthening the health care workforce and the redesign of patient care delivery, and has co-authored award-winning research on the retention and turnover of chief nursing officers.  She has served on boards and foundations across the country, including the National Patient Safety Foundation and the New Hampshire Foundation of Health Communities. Thompson received the National League for Nursing’s President’s Award and the California Association of Nurse Leaders Lifetime Achievement Award.

Dr. Marilyn Chow
As the vice president of national patient care services and innovation at Kaiser Permanente, Chow works with nursing leaders and senior executives across all regions, collaborating with internal and external partners to ensure the highest quality and safest patient-centered care. Innovation, regulation of nursing practice and workforce policy are her areas of expertise. She has spent her career promoting the role of nurses in primary care, advanced practice, and hospital-based care. Dr. Chow is committed to utilizing innovation and technology to reduce waste and improve workflows within the health care industry, as demonstrated at Kaiser Permanente, KP Innovation Consultancy and the Innovation Learning Network.

The Executive Fellowship in Innovation Health Leadership is a year-long, cohort-based program that prepares professionals for executive leadership responsibilities that drive innovation in their own organizations. The fellowship is offered by Arizona State University and the American Organization of Nurse Executive, in collaboration with the American Association for Physician Leadership.

More Health and medicine


Man loading box of food into car

ASU professors contribute to special issue on pandemic's impact on Latino families

Three Arizona State University professors co-authored five of 10 articles in a special issue of the Journal of Clinical Child…

February 23, 2024
ASU's Health North Building is seen in the foreground with Downtown Phoenix in the background on a sunny day.

ASU alum using degree to provide care for Arizona's underserved communities

By Max Baker Born and raised in Alaska, Davina Vea knows what it’s like to go without. The Arizona State University alumna was…

February 23, 2024
abstract image of vital sign indicator line with a heart between two hands

Does low testosterone lead to heart disease?

Is low testosterone a contributor to cardiovascular disease? Is testosterone replacement the answer? It's a bit more complicated…

February 20, 2024