Skip to main content

ASU Cronkite professor Julia Wallace encourages grads to be courageous in journalism

Julia Wallace, Cronkite School

Julia Wallace, a former Cox Media Group executive and leading editor of newspapers in Atlanta and Phoenix, discusses the importance of courage at the Cronkite Convocation ceremony. Photo by Courtney Pedroza

December 13, 2016

Julia Wallace, a former Cox Media Group executive and leading editor of newspapers in Atlanta and Phoenix, urged the newest graduates of Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication to courageously chase their dreams.

Wallace, who is joining the Cronkite School next month as the Frank Russell Chair, was the keynote convocation speaker Monday at ASU Gammage, where 126 students in attendance received degrees in front of more than 800 guests.

In her address, Wallace shared lessons from the “Wizard of Oz” and her 40-year journalism career to help graduates navigate the evolving media landscape.

“As you head down your personal yellow brick road, you’ll be in great shape if you: Use your brains; listen to your heart; and yes, flex your courage,” said Wallace, who previously led the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, becoming the first female editor-in-chief in the newspaper’s history.

Wallace, who also is a former managing editor at The Arizona Republic, touched on the state of journalism, noting the speed of change in the industry has significantly accelerated. However, she said journalism’s mission remains the same — to inform the public.

“As you sit here today, you have your life before you,” she said. “I need to tell you, I’m pretty envious. You are graduating from the greatest journalism school in the country at a time of great change and opportunity.”

This fall semester, the Cronkite School graduated a total of 184 bachelor’s degree students, with 90 earning a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism and Mass Communication, 83 receiving a Bachelor of Arts in Mass Communication and Media Studies and 11 earning a Bachelor of Arts in Sports Journalism.

The Cronkite School also graduated 26 master’s degree students, 13 earning a Master of Journalism and Mass Communication and another 13 earning a Master of Arts in Sports Journalism. Miles Romney received a doctoral degree, the fifth awarded by the school.

Student speaker Trever Migliorino of Peoria, Arizona, urged graduates to be in control of their dreams. Migliorino, who served as technical director for the Cronkite News student-produced newscast on Arizona PBS, donned his control room headset during his speech and directed students in tossing their graduation caps at the end of the ceremony.

“Make sure that we continue to put our best foot forward,” Migliorino said. “Help others when they are down. Show cultural relativism and bravery. And lastly, don’t let yourself be caught as something you are not.”

Cronkite Dean and University Vice Provost Christopher Callahan said a quarter of the graduating class earned high academic honors. Sixteen students achieved summa cum laude status with grade-point averages of at least 3.8; another 18 graduated magna cum laude with GPAs of 3.6 to 3.79; and 18 graduated cum laude with GPAs of 3.4 to 3.59.

“Through your immersive learning, you are making a real difference in the lives of everyday Arizonans through your in-depth and innovative reporting,” Callahan said. “We are proud of all you have done.”

In addition, 11 students were inducted into Kappa Tau Alpha, a national college honor society that recognizes academic excellence and promotes scholarship in journalism. The top 10 percent of the graduating class is inducted into the society each semester.

Student award winners

Outstanding Graduate Student
Giselle Cancio

Outstanding Undergraduate Students
Jose Carrera, Heather Hudzinski and Cassidy Trowbridge

Highest Grade Point Average in Journalism
Katy Burge

Highest Grade Point Average in Media Studies
Melissa Garchie

Top Innovator Award
Elizabeth Hansen

Kappa Tau Alpha National Honor Society
Katy Burge, Giselle Cancio, Alexander Caprariello, Joshua Glatt, Madalyn Heimann, Heather Hudzinski, Amanda Jensen, Celina Jimenez, Catherine Ann Nolen, Preston Scott-Hall and Cassidy Trowbridge

Moeur Award
Katy Burge

Student Speaker
Trever Migliorino 

More Law, journalism and politics


Woman talking with two student journalists in office

ASU's Carnegie-Knight News21 wins RFK Journalism Award for 'America After Roe'

The Carnegie-Knight News21 program has been honored with two Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Awards — including the prestigious 2024…

May 22, 2024
Students sitting on outdoor tables in courtyard in downtown Phoenix

ASU Law, Diné College, Navajo Nation partner on first-ever tribally affiliated legal program

In a historic move in the advancement of legal education, the Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law at Arizona State University has …

May 20, 2024
Headshot of Angela Hill.

Winning the ultimate prize

When Angela Hill left a good-paying job in marketing for a shot at journalism, all she wanted to do was tell stories, inform…

May 17, 2024