Skip to main content

ASU Herberger College School of Music welcomes new president with music

October 15, 2002

“Serenade: An Inaugural Welcome to President Michael Crow” gives the Valley an opportunity to take part in the upcoming installation of Arizona State University’s 16th president. The fast-paced concert will be presented by the ASU Herberger College of Fine Arts School of Music on (Tuesday) Nov. 5 at 7:30 p.m. in Gammage Auditorium, 1200 S. Forest Ave., on the main ASU campus in Tempe.

The School of Music’s top ensembles will perform in President Crow’s honor: Wind Symphony, University Symphony Orchestra, Concert Choir, Concert Jazz Band, Lyric Opera Theatre and Trumpet Ensemble, along with several of the school’s internationally renowned faculty performers: pianist Andrew Campbell, bassoonist Jeffrey Lyman, organist Kimberly Marshall, violinist Katie McLin, pianist Caio Pagano, tubist J. Samuel Pilafian, oboist Martin Schuring and clarinetist Robert Spring.

Admission is free, but tickets are required. Reserve early for best seats. Call the Gammage Box Office at 480-965-3434. Tickets may be picked up at Will Call anytime, including night of performance. Tickets also will be available at the door.

Program selections show the breadth and depth of the Herberger College School of Music performers, both students and faculty. The concert opens with the world premiere of a new work by award-winning composer Randall Shinn, who is a professor of music theory and composition at ASU. The work, Inaugural Fanfare, will be performed by the school’s 12-member Trumpet Ensemble under the direction of Arizona Regents’ professor of trumpet David Hickman.

Other works to be performed include “Profanation” from Leonard Bernstein’s Jermiah Symphony, No. 2 (Wind Symphony); Rondo in C Major by Carl Maria von Weber (pianist Caio Pagano); two spirituals, “Great Day” and Down by the Riverside,” and “Och jungfrun hon gar I ringen” by Hugo Alfven (Concert Choir and soloist J. Samuel Pilafian, tuba); Ashokan Farewell by Jay Ungar, which was the title theme for the PBS series by Ken Burns, The Civil War (Katie McLin, violin, and Andrew Campbell, piano); Moto Perpetuo, Op. 11 by Niccolo Paganini and “Habanera” from Aires Tropicales by Paquito D’Rivera (Ocotillo Winds: oboist Martin Schuring, clarinetist Robert Spring and bassoonist Jeffrey Lyman); Symphonie VI, Op. 42 by Charles-Marie Widor (Kimberly Marshall, organ) on Gammage Auditorium’s Aeolian-Skinner pipe organ; two selections from Mozart’s Cosi Fan Tutte: “Soave sia il vento” and “Ah guarda, sorella” (Lyric Opera Theatre); and Symphony No. 8 in G Major, Opus 88 by Antonin Dvo_ák (University Symphony Orchestra). 

Media Contact:
Mary Brennan