Skip to main content

Spring Faculty Artist Series Satisfies all Musical Tastes

January 04, 2007

TEMPE, Ariz. – Dynamic performances by ASU Herberger College world-renown faculty musicians jump start the spring 2007 season. Prominent ensembles that span the globe are peppered with School of Music faculty. The spring 2007 Faculty Artist Series promises a dozen solo and ensemble performances, featuring music from the harpsichord to the saxophone. Community members can witness faculty musicians trade in their teaching tools and step into the spotlight.

“Community members will be delighted by the performances of these remarkable musicians,” says Kimberly Marshall, Goldman Professor of Organ and School of Music interim director. “Audiences can expect to hear a broad selection of musical works.”

Faculty Artist Series concerts are Jan. 28 through April 15 in Katzin Concert Hall, in the School of Music building, 40 E. Gammage Parkway on the ASU Tempe campus. General admission tickets are $8. Guests are encouraged to purchase advance single tickets and may call the box office, 11 a.m. to 6 p.m., Tuesdays through Fridays, and noon to 4 p.m. Saturdays, 480-965-6447. Tickets are available at the door on a space-available basis.

ASU students may pick up FREE recital tickets during the week they occur at the Herberger College box office, located in the Nelson Fine Arts Center, pending availability. A current ASU student ID is required at pick-up.

Visit for additional Faculty Artist series information. Following is the spring 2007 schedule:

Jan. 28, 2:30 p.m.
Nancy Buck, viola

Feb. 4, 2:30 p.m.
Joseph Wytko, saxophone; Andrew Campbell, piano

Feb. 9, 7:30 p.m.
Eckart Sellheim and Dian Baker, piano four hands

Feb. 16, 7:30 p.m.
Albie Micklich, bassoon; Andrew Campbell, percussion

Feb. 25, 2:30 p.m.
Sam Pilafian, tuba; J.B. Smith, percussion

March 4, 2:30 p.m.
Elizabeth Buck, flute

March 21, 7:30 p.m.
Trio Del Sol, Robert Spring, Katie McLin and Andrew Campbell

March 26, 7:30 p.m.
Eckart Sellheim, piano

April 1, 2:30 p.m.
Walter Cosand, piano

April 7, 7:30 p.m.
Hamilton Tescarollo, piano

April 10, 7:30 p.m.
Robert Barefield, baritone; Eckart Sellheim, piano; Carole FitzPatrick, soprano

April 15, 2:30 p.m.
Martin Shuring, oboe; Seigbert Rampe, harpsichord

The School of Music in the Herberger College of Fine Arts at Arizona State University is ranked 19th in the country and eighth among public institutions by U.S. News & World Report. More than 100 music faculty artists and scholars work with approximately 800 music majors each year in research, performance and scholarly activities. It presents approximately 700 concerts and recitals each year. To learn more about the School of Music, visit