Skip to main content

Herberger College Department of Theatre launches Arizona Playwrights Contest 2002

April 18, 2002

The Herberger College of Fine Arts Department of Theatre at ASU announces the third biennial Arizona Playwrights Contest 2002, a statewide contest for playwrights to have their original, unpublished and unproduced work recognized. The deadline is Aug. 31, 2002.

Guillermo Reyes, professor of theatre and head of ASU’s playwriting program, began the contest in 1998 as a way of creating a link between Arizona playwrights. The Department of Theatre, now in its 40 season, continues to produce theatre for a growing community in the Valley and promotes the development of new plays in its MFA Playwriting Program. The department features an annual New Plays Marathon.

The winner of this year’s contest will have his/her work featured in the New Plays Marathon 2003 and will also receive a $500 honorarium. (Please note: the prize money is pending state budgetary issues; regardless, the contest will be held with or without it .)

In 2000, Elaine Romero won for her work, Before Death Comes for the Archbishop. In 1998, Toni Press-Coffman won the contest with her play Touch.

Scripts must be full-length (over 60 minutes). Previous staged readings and university workshops are acceptable. Only one script per playwright. Playwrights entering the contest must be current residents of Arizona. They must not be currently enrolled at Arizona State University and must not be current faculty or staff of ASU.

For more information or a full set of the rules, please see page two of this release or call Guillermo Reyes at 480-965-0519. 

Deadline: August 31, 2002


  1. Winner will be included in ASU's annual New Plays Festival as a staged reading.
  2. A $500 honorarum will be awarded to winning playwright. (Prize money is pending on state budgetary issues, nonetheless contest will be held with or without it.)


  1. Finalists and the eventual winner will be selected by a team comprised of the faculty and selected graduate students of the Theatre Department.
  2. The decision of the adjudicators is final. ASU Theatre Department reserves the right to select no winner.


  1. Scripts must be original, unpublished, and unproduced. Previous staged readings and non-Equity productions would be acceptable. 
  2. Scripts must be full-length (over 60 minutes), with minimal set changes. (No musicals accepted.) Any style, genre, or cast number allowed.
  3. Only one script per playwright is allowed.
  4. The previous winner of the contest may not enter this year’s contest, but will be eligible for future contests.
  5. Scripts must be typed and bound. Please include a self-addressed stamped envelope for the script's return (or please state in cover letter that you do not want the script returned.) A stamped, self-addressed postcard may also be included for notification of receipt of submission.
  6. Playwrights entering the contest must be current residents of the state of Arizona. They must not be currently enrolled, full-time or "at large" students at Arizona State University and must not be current staff or faculty of ASU. 
  7. ASU does not assume responsibility for loss, damage or return of the scripts. All reasonable care will be taken.
  8. Deadline for entry is a postmark of August 31, 2002. Earlier submission is encouraged. The winner will be announced in December 2002.
  9. Please mail submissions to:

    Arizona State University
    Attn: Arizona Playwrights Competition
    Department of Theatre
    Box 872002
    Tempe AZ 85287-2002

    Media Contact:
    Megan Krause