Skip to main content

Herberger College of Fine Arts Department of Theatre Announces Arizona Playwrights Contest 2006

April 12, 2005

Tempe, AZ - The Herberger College of Fine Arts Department of Theatre at ASU announces the biennial Arizona Playwrights Contest 2006, a statewide contest for playwrights to have their original, unpublished work recognized. The deadline is August 31, 2005.

Guillermo Reyes, professor of theatre and head of ASU's playwriting program, began the contest in 1998 as a way to create a link between Arizona playwrights. The Theatre Department produces performances for a growing community in the Valley area and promotes the development of new plays in its MFA Playwriting program, which is part of the interdisciplinary Creative Writing program administered jointly by the English and Theatre Departments. This year, the Virginia G. Piper Center for Creative Writing at ASU will co-sponsor the contest.

The Department of Theatre also features an annual New Plays marathon festival. The winner of the contest will be included in ASU's annual New Plays Festival as a staged reading and also will receive a $1000 honorarium.

Playwrights entering the contest must be current residents of Arizona. They must not be currently enrolled at Arizona State University and must not be current faculty or staff of ASU. Scripts must be full-length (more than 60 minutes), and only one script per playwright. Previous staged readings and university workshops are acceptable.

In 2002, John Franklin, a resident of Prescott Valley, won for his work "Crosswords," a drama about two senior citizens who contemplate suicide in order to put an end to their many health difficulties.

Elaine Romero of Tucson won the 2000 award for "Before Death Comes for the Archbishop," about the struggles of a priest in New Mexico to establish a mission responsive to the local population while withstanding the pressures of local politicians to take political sides.

Toni Press-Coffman won the 1998 award with "Touch," a drama about a young man's loss of his young wife to murder, and the repercussions of surviving such a tragedy. The play was seen at ASU by Actors Theater of Louisville Artistic Director, Jon Jory, and was subsequently produced in the 2000 Humana Festival.

For more information, call Guillermo Reyes at (480) 965-0519. The complete set of rules follows.

The Playwriting program is part of the Department of Theatre in the Herberger College of Fine Arts at ASU. The Department of Theatre provides a comprehensive range of courses in performance and directing; design and production; playwriting and dramaturgy; theatre and performance studies; film studies; and theatre for youth. Its Theatre for Youth program is nationally ranked in the top three and its creative writing/playwriting program is ranked 15th among public institutions by U.S.News & World Report . To learn more about the Department of Theatre, visit .

Arizona Playwrights Contest 2005
A Playwriting Competition Sponsored by the Virginia G. Piper Center for Creative Writing at ASU and the ASU Department of Theatre


  1. Winner will be included in ASU's annual New Plays Readings Festival 2006 as a staged reading.
  2. A $1,000 honorarium will be awarded to winning playwright.


  1. Finalists and the eventual winner will be selected by a team comprised of
    the faculty and selected graduate students of the Theatre Department and Creative Writing program.
  2. The decision of the adjudicators is final. The judges reserve the right to select no winner.


  1. Scripts must be original, unpublished and unproduced in an Equity setting. Previous staged readings and non-Equity productions would be acceptable.
  2. Scripts must be full-length (over 60 minutes).
  3. Any style, genre, or cast number allowed.
  4. Only one script per playwright is allowed.
  5. The previous winner of the contest may not enter this year’s contest, but will be eligible for future contests.
  6. Scripts must be typed and bound. Please include a self-addressed stamped envelope for the script's return (or please state in cover letter that you do not want the script returned.) A stamped, self-addressed postcard may also be included for notification of receipt of submission.
  7. Playwrights entering the contest must be current residents of the state of Arizona. They must not be currently enrolled, full-time or "at large" students at Arizona State University and must not be current staff or faculty of ASU.
  8. ASU does not assume responsibility for loss, damage or return of the scripts. All reasonable care will be taken.
  9. Deadline for entry is a postmark of August 31, 2005. Earlier submission is encouraged. The winner will be announced in December 2005.
  10. Please mail submissions to:

    Arizona State University
    Attn: Arizona Playwrights Competition
    Department of Theatre
    Box 872002
    Tempe, AZ 85287-2002

Media Contact:
Mica Matsoff
(480) 965-0478