Skip to main content

ASU grad Courtney Klein recognized with Young Alumni Achievement Award

portrait of Courtney Klein

Bachelor of interdisciplinary studies alumna Courtney Klein was honored with the ASU Founders' Day Young Alumni Achievement Award on Feb. 3, 2016. Klein is founder and CEO of SEED SPOT.

February 05, 2016

Courtney Klein, who graduated with a bachelor of interdisciplinary studies degree from the College of Letters and Sciences in 2005 and also earned a master of non-profit studies at ASU, was honored with the 2016 Young Alumni Achievement Award at the ASU Alumni Association's annual Founders' Day event, held at the Arizona Biltmore Resort and Spa on Feb. 3.

Klein, who founded the nonprofit New Global Citizens shortly after graduation, is founder and CEO of SEED SPOT, which invests in and accelerates the work of nonprofits focused on solutions to social problems. Since its founding in 2012, SEED SPOT has assisted more than 160 social entrepreneurs with funding, training and mentorship. Her work has gained national attention and SEED SPOT was recognized as one of the top three social impact incubators in the United States — by UBI Global and Cisco.

In her remarks at the Founders' Day event, Klein thanked her ASU mentors — especially former ASU president Lattie Coor — for all the support and encouragement she received to pursue and realize her visions. Now the mother of a six-month-old baby, she said she feels even more strongly about the need to make sure we do all we can to create a better world for generations to come.

The Founders' Day award ceremony honors individuals who exemplify the spirit of the founders of the Territorial Normal School of Arizona, ASU’s predecessor institution, which received its charter from the Thirteenth Territorial Legislature in 1885. The 2016 event, in addition to lauding Klein, recognized Regents' Professor Charles Arntzen with the Faculty Achevement Research Award, associate professor Josephine Petyon Marsh with the Faculty Achievement Service Award, associate professor Wendy Hultsman with the Faculty Achievement Teaching Award, Derrick Hall with the Alumni Achievement Award, and Cindy and Mike Watts with the Philanthropists of the Year Award.

More University news


Charla Griffy-Brown

Charla Griffy-Brown named director general and dean of Thunderbird at ASU

As Thunderbird School of Global Management enters its 10th year as part of Arizona State University, a new decade welcomes the…

June 19, 2024
ASU Research Park waterfall sign

ASU Research Park celebrates 40 years of collaboration, innovation

The Arizona State University Research Park celebrates its 40th anniversary this year as the university’s original Innovation Zone…

June 18, 2024
Group photo of 2024 Arizona Nutrition College Bowl participants.

How College of Health Solutions faculty, alumni rebuilt the College Nutrition Bowl

By Aidan Hansen When Lindsay Gnant first participated in the Nutrition College Bowl as an Arizona State University undergrad in…

June 14, 2024