Skip to main content

Faculty selected to American Academy of Nursing

June 03, 2011

Faculty from the College of Nursing & Health Innovation have been competitively selected to the American Academy of Nursing (AAN). Joan Dodgson, Ph.D., MPH; Colleen Keller , Ph.D., RN-C, FNP, FAHA, FNAP; Denise Link, Ph.D., WHNP-BC, CNE, FNAP and Elizabeth Reifsnider, Ph.D., RN, WHNP, PHCNS-BC will be inducted as fellows into the AAN at the 38th Annual Meeting & Conference held October 13-15, 2011 at the Hyatt Regency on Capitol Hill, Washington DC.

The highest honored bestowed on members of the nursing profession, nominees provide specific evidence of their contributions to improve nursing and healthcare practice that is reviewed by AAN's board of directors.

The AAN was established in 1973 under the aegis of the American Nurses Association. The Academy has more than 1,500 members that are highly accomplished leaders in education, management, practice and research; more than 80 percent hold doctoral degrees, and the rest have completed masters programs. Sixty-four percent of the Fellowship work in academic settings, 30 percent work in service and practice settings, and about 3 percent work in state and federal government agencies The AAN strives to provide visionary leadership in the nursing profession and to the public by shaping future healthcare policy and practice. Learn more about AAN.